#90YearsofMorris: Opening Day, 1933 Ninety years ago today, the gates of the Morris, the estate formerly known as Compton, swung open to the public for the first time. That week in June 1933, eighteen months after Lydia Morris's death, marked the transition from private estate to public garden amidst great fanfare and publicity. Ninety years ago today, the gates of the Morris, the estate formerly known as Compton, swung open to the public for the first time. That week in June 1933, eighteen months after Lydia Morris's death, marked the transition from private estate to public garden amidst great fanfare and publicity. The Philadelphia Bulletin reported that 10,000 visitors enjoyed the Morris on that first day. The Philadelphia Record heralded the news with a large photo and the front-page headline, "Morris Arboretum Goes to Posterity." Image Maurice Bower Saul, '05L .,'07C. (right), a Trustee of the University of Pennsylvania as well as Lydia’s secretary and first Morris board member and chair, handing over the key to Compton to University President Thomas S. Gates (left), during the dedication ceremony in 1933. Image Morris Executive Director Bill Cullina (left) with University of Pennsylvania President Liz Magill (right) at this weekend's Moonlight & Roses gala, holding the key that was originally used in the 1933 dedication ceremony. Though very private up until the opening, the estate was already widely known throughout Philadelphia and the eastern US, and was considered second only to Harvard's Arnold Arboretum for its fine collection of trees and shrubs. The Philadelphia Ledger reported, "The Arboretum's gardens are said to rival the Arnold Gardens in Boston, the Kew Gardens of London or the Jardin d'Acclimation of Paris," and The New York Times described the opening as "An El Dorado of horticultural treasure." Once the Morris became part of the University of Pennsylvania, the focus shifted from that of an aesthetic landscape garden …